Skip to content

Stay-in “Takeout”: Ass-Kickin’ Enchiladas De Pollo

2010.02.05

Think it’s impossible to make authentic-tasting enchiladas that are healthy, easy to make AND amazingly yummy? No way José! Check this out:

As promised, our next destination in project Stay-in “Takeout” is Mexico!

We have a kick ass little Mexican cantina just down the street from our house with the most amazing enchiladas. I’m talking kick-you-square-in-the-taste-buds-til-you-run-home-cryin-to-your-momma amazing. But I wouldn’t even want to begin to think about the fat and calories packed into those delectable little saucy tortilla packages, not to mention that an order runs you close to $20. Ouch. So for you, dear readers and friends, I set out to come up with a way for you to bring those ass-kickin’ enchiladas straight to you very own kitchen. Oh, and all those extra fat and calories? I kicked them to the curb!

When I first started researching enchilada recipes, none of them seemed quite right (from carrots to cream of chicken soup (yeah, really), I just couldn’t fathom how many of the ingredient lists would create the taste I was looking for) and more often than not the nutritional value just wasn’t there. So I did what any other fearless warrior woman of the kitchen would do…. I wrote my own! Although I will sometimes fiddle a bit with a recipe, I’m not usually one to veer completely off course and write my own. I’ve got to say, it was liberating! I did use a few recipes to start me off with a bigger picture, but I’m confident that my recipe is unique enough to say that it’s entirely my own!

So how did mine measure up to those sweet little parcels of enchilada goodness I was telling you about? Let’s just say we probably won’t be frequenting said Mexican cantina quite as often any more ;) … AY CARAMBA!!

Do you have a favourite cuisine or ethnic dish you wish you didn’t always have to eat-out to enjoy? Tell me, tell me!

Ass-Kickin’ Enchiladas De Pollo serves 4

Print This Recipe!

Ingredients

  • 1 teaspoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 cup red onion, diced
  • ½ cup red pepper, chopped
  • ¼ cup green pepper, chopped
  • 1 large clove garlic, diced
  • 4 oz. can chopped green chiles (such as Old El Paso); about ¼ cup
  • Pinch of sea salt
  • 1 tablespoon 25% less salt taco seasoning (mix then measure)
  • 1-213 mL can of tomato sauce
  • ¼ cup water
  • 2 chicken breast halves
  • ½ cup light (5%) sour cream
  • ½ cup (about 2 oz) reduced-fat Monterey Jack Cheese, shredded (a strong Cheddar would be good too!)
  • 2 tablespoons fresh cilantro, minced
  • 8 small (7 or 8 inch) whole wheat tortilla wraps
  • 8 oz bottle of taco sauce (such as Old El Paso)
  • ¼ cup (about 1 oz) reduced-fat Monterey Jack Cheese (or Cheddar), shredded
  • Additional light sour cream (optional)
  • Additional minced cilantro (optional)

Directions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350°.
  2. In a wok or large frying pan, heat the extra-virgin olive oil over med-high heat. Add the red onion, red pepper, green pepper, garlic and chopped green chiles. Sprinkle with sea salt (this draws the water from the vegetables which in turns helps them caramelize; lower water content = higher sugar concentration). Sauté until veggies begin to caramelize (look charred), about 5-10 minutes.
  3. Turn the heat down to medium and add the taco seasoning. Stir frequently until spices are fragrant, about 30 seconds. Add the tomato sauce and water. Stir.
  4. Nestle the whole chicken breasts into the sauce mixture. Cook, covered, for 12-15 minutes, turning at halftime, until chicken is no longer pink inside. Remove chicken to a cutting board and shred with two forks. Return to sauce.
  5. Add the sour cream and ½ cup of shredded cheese. Stir until cheese melts and mixture is heated through. Add cilantro and stir again.
  6. Stack the tortillas on a plate and cover with plastic wrap; Microwave on high until warm and pliable; 20 seconds ought to do it. Spread the tortillas on a clean work surface, and spoon 1/3 cup of the chicken mixture evenly down the center of each. Tightly roll each tortilla and lay seam-side down in a lightly greased baking dish (I used an 8 x 8 in dish though I would probably recommend a 9 x 13 for next time, as it was a bit tight).
  7. Pour the taco sauce evenly over the enchiladas and top with the remaining cheese. Cover with foil and bake in pre-heated oven for 25 minutes. Remove foil, turn the broiler on high and return the enchiladas to the oven. Broil until sauce is bubbly and cheese is golden brown, about 5-8 minutes (watch them carefully though!). Let stand 5 minutes.
  8. Serve topped with sour cream and cilantro.

Nutritional Info per serving (¼ of recipe/2 enchiladas)

calories

total fat

sat fat

protein

carbohydrates

fibre

cholesterol

sodium

480

13 g

5 g

22 g

24 g

6 g

58 mg

1200 mg

calories

total fat

sat fat

protein

carbohydrates

fibre

cholesterol

sodium

480

13 g

5 g

22 g

24 g

6 g

58 mg

1200 mg

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 2010.02.05 7.12 pm

    Looks and sounds delish Amber! I just made enchilada’s 2 days ago! I’ll have to try your version next time.

  2. Sharon permalink
    2010.02.06 6.20 pm

    Loved them! We used the “medium” taco sauce which was perfect for me although I think Ron could have handled the “hot” – ours weren’t quite as pretty as yours but tasted great!!
    Thanks for the recipe!

  3. Naomi permalink
    2010.02.08 10.34 am

    Sushi. I wish I didn’t have to go out to eat sushi.
    Not to mention is $20 per person to eat at Aji Sai.
    Plus my husband doesn’t eat it so we never go. :(

  4. Sandy Poirier permalink
    2010.04.22 4.33 pm

    OMG!!!!! These are fantastic!!!! I made them for supper tonight and we just LOVE, LOVE, LOVE them.
    Are you sure your not MY long lost daughter ? LOL Because my daughters should cook like this!!! And we both know this part of your genius did not come form your mother!! LOL (sorry Kendra) Love Ya!

    Another GREAT recipe …keep them coming!!

    Love Sandy :)

  5. 2010.05.27 10.48 pm

    Made these tonight for dinner for friends and my boo and they absolutely loved them, as did I!
    So delicious.
    Made a few with black beans for the vegetarian option and they were good, too!
    Spot on with 9×13 pan as well! Not even sure how you fit 8 in an 8×8! :)

Trackbacks

  1. Forbidden Love: Molten Chocolate Lava Cakes « Happiness in a Pot

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

