Skip to content

Rich and Hearty Three Mushroom Soup

2010.01.27

Dear Mushrooms, collectively:

I know that we never got along that well until recently. I apologize. I held pretentious notions about you that I now find out are completely false.

No, you do not taste like dirt (though you have to admit, you can be a bit “earthy” at times).

No, you do not grow on poop (most of the time, anyway).

And no, you won’t cause a serious mass of hyphae to sprout from my stomach, bust through my vascular system and strangle my vital organs (I’m not sure I’m yet convinced on this one).

Thanks to my more refined as of late adult(“-ish”) taste buds, I now know that you are a delicious accompaniment to many meals.

Particularly soups.

Let’s make up for lost time shall we?!

Sincerely,

Ambs

Friends, this hearty and rich three-mushroom soup (yes; not one, not two, but three glorious types of mushrooms!) is just the ticket when the old soul needs a bit of a mid-winter pick me up! And not only is it quick, easy and “holy frig that’s yum”, but it’s good for you too!

Rich and Hearty Three Mushroom Soup from ESBM

Print this recipe!

6 servings

  • 4 slices bacon, chopped
  • 1-½  cups sliced leeks (about 2 leeks; white part only)
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 1-½  lb (680g) sliced crimini (baby Portobello), shiitake, and button mushrooms (8 oz/227g each)
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • ½ teaspoon dried rosemary
  • 4 cups beef broth
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp black pepper, freshly ground
  • ½ cup light (5%) cream OR light sour cream OR evaporated 2% milk (I opted for the sour cream)
  • ¼ cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

Note: I would recommend having your leeks, garlic and mushrooms chopped and ready to go before you start cooking as everything comes together quite quickly.

  1. Cook bacon in a large, non-stick soup pot over med-high heat until lightly browned but not crisp. Add leeks and garlic. Cook and stir until leeks begin to soften, about 3 min.
  2. Stir in mushrooms. Cook and stir until mushrooms are tender, about 5 more minutes. Add thyme and rosemary. Cook 30 more seconds. Add broth salt, and pepper, and bring soup to a boil. Reduce heat to low, cover, and simmer for 10 min.
  3. Transfer half the soup to a blender and puree until smooth (be sure to take the little plug out of the lid and cover with a dry towel (folded over 3 or 4 times) before starting the blender. This helps the steam to escape safely so you don’t end up with Jackson Pollock-esque cupboards. Trust me on this one… I may or may not know from experience). Alternatively, you could also use an immersion blender. They’re ballin’ for blended soups and sauces!
  4. Return pureed soup to a pot with remaining soup and mix well. Add cream, parsley, and balsamic vinegar. Heat gently for another 5 mins and serve. Garnish bowls with additional crumbled bacon and chopped parsley, if desired.

Per Serving (1/6 of recipe)

calories total fat sat fat protein carbohydrates fibre cholestrerol sodium
131 6.6 g 2.7 g 8 g 12 g 1.9 g 19 mg 575 mg
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Monica Domingues permalink
    2010.02.20 5.14 pm

    I love this soup Amber!! I’ve made it twice already. mmm so good. Great website by the way, I’ll definitely be trying out more things from this blog!

  2. 2010.02.20 5.36 pm

    I’m glad you like it! You’ll have to let me know if you try anything else :) Thanks for the shout out!

  3. 2011.02.14 10.01 am

    This soup is amazing!!
    Probably the best tasting soup I have ever had :-)
    Love the balsamic vinegar touch, adds the perfect accent.
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

